6 replies to this topic

#1 hppatel19886

hppatel19886

• Members
  • Pip
  • 1 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 01:35 AM

Hi,

I would like to calculate PK parameters in Phoenix for the IV bolus plus IV infusion. Could anyone tell me how to do?

The scenario is here.

1 gm IV bolus at 0 min and 333 mg/hr infusion started after 5 min and continued for 5 hrs. I have data points from 5 min to 5 hrs. Please tell me how can I calculate the NCA PK parameter?

I am unable to add both dosings in NCA. It would be great if you can show how to add dosing and how to prepare a data file for NCA. I am new to Phoenix.

#2 Simon Davis

Simon Davis

Advanced Member

• Administrators
  • 1,318 posts

Posted 21 January 2019 - 08:31 AM

NCA theory and models are defined for a single dose event, if you give more than one dose even it will return results from only the last dose for each profile as defined by the sort keys .  If you want to analyse this as an NCA then I think you will have to make a compromise of defining this as an infusion only. However I would recommend that you avoid this design in future and understand where the differences may come from.

In the attached project I have performed a number of simulations with clearance of 6L/h and 60L/h  (typical and high values for a drug)  and NCA's on a very rich profile from the simualtion and one with a more realistic sample schedule.

Subject 1 is set up to be simualtes with the true dosing info and Subject 2 as if the same total amount of drug was all given as a constant infusion 0 to 5 hours.  You can see in the table below how some common parameters might vary in their estimation.

I hope this helps, SImon.

PS   I'm not sure where you're based but we hold face to face training courses all around the world, the next one in India is

Bengaluru, India – Introduction to Phoenix WinNonlin with IVIVC Toolkit, April 2-4, 2019 – 2 Registrations (Chandramouli Radhakrishnan

and the whole 2019 calendar  is here